New In | L’Oréal True Match Foundation

truematchedit

 

I’ve been meaning to give this foundation a try for a long time. When I read on Amelia Liana’s blog that L’Oréal True Match foundation was a dupe for one of my all time favourite bases Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk, I put it straight on my “to try” list (there’s a lot of products on there). Being a student I am not particularly keen on forking out the heart and bank-breaking £36.50 for an every day foundation so coming in at £9.99, the L’Oréal number is more within my price range.

As a self-confessed foundation junkie I’m always on the hunt for the perfect base. My ideal foundation is a product that is not too heavy, not totally matte but at the same time doesn’t add to my combination skin problems, while also providing a healthy amount of coverage. L’Oréal describe the True Match foundation as a silky textured “super-blendable liquid foundation” that hides imperfections with the result of flawless coverage. It is also oil-free. So does how does the foundation perform?

I picked up the shade N1 in Ivory which is a perfect match for my skin tone without fake tan on. I was so chuffed when I first applied this shade and realised that it actually the right colour for me. This is something that I usually struggle with as being super-pale, the lighter shades of drugstore foundations are always either too pink or extremely orange on my skin.

After testing this foundation out for a few days I feel that it works into the skin best with a damp beauty blender rather than the Real Techniques Buffing Brush as the foundation took a considerable amount of blending to diminish brush lines and create a smooth finish. In comparison to Luminous Silk I don’t feel that the coverage of True Match is as good and it is a lot lighter in consistency. However overall I do really love the finish of the foundation once it has completely meshed with your skin. It wears beautifully throughout the day and doesn’t go patchy or create excess oil. I would say True Match is a medium coverage foundation however it is definitely build-able. I am keen to try one of the darker shades in the range for when I am tanned as I feel that makeup generally looks better on my skin when I’m not resembling a vampire.

 

If you are on a budget I thoroughly recommend giving this foundation a try. Do you also love the True Match foundation? What is your favourite drugstore foundation?

4 Replies to “New In | L’Oréal True Match Foundation”

Leave a Reply

