Best on a Budget | Solait Self Tan Lotion

Budget Fake Tan

 

Being so pale that I often notice a tinge of blue to my skin (what a babe), adding a slight glow to my complexion has been necessary since I discovered self tan. Over the years there have been many orange disasters, but I like to refer to them as an experience, testing the waters of the fake tan realm.

I’ve been dabbling in tanning products since I was around 13-years-old, starting off initially with Johnson’s Holiday Skin Gradual Tan (what a throwback), then moving onto the mousses with the infamous St. Moritz. When I was 16 I bought my first bottle of St. Tropez, I was moving up in the world. However, over the years of trial and error, I’ve come to realise that just because a product has a high price tag, it doesn’t always mean that said product will be of a high quality.

Last year I discovered the wonders of Superdrug’s own line of fake tanning products, Solait. In particular their Self Tan Lotion. For me, this brand comes up top in my array of budget self tanners. Coming in three colours, Light/Medium, Medium/Dark and Dark, depending on how many times you reapply this tan, you can pretty much achieve any desired colour.

Before applying this tan with the Solait Tan Mitt, I use some of the Vaseline Cocoa Butter Gel Body Oil on my elbows, knees, feet and hands to ensure all dry patches are fully moisturised, helping to achieve a flawless tan. I’ve also tried this fake tan on my face and it does not irritate my skin but I usually mix some in with my night time moisturiser so the colour is not as concentrated.

This tan does not smell the greatest, but neither does any tanner I’ve tried- even the ones that claim to have no scent! The lotion has an amazing guide colour so streaking is not an issue. Once washed off it reveals a gorgeous, golden glow. Because it is a lotion in consistency, the product is a lot more nourishing and moisturising on the skin so as it wears off patchiness is not an issue- as long as you remember to exfoliate. Another great plus is that Solait Self Tan Lotion is not tested on animals and is frequently on offer!

 

I thoroughly recommend this tan, and in my opinion is a drugstore dupe for Xen Tan’s Dark Lotion. Are there any hidden fake tan gems you’ve found recently?

Leave a Reply

