April Music Favourites

Recently I’ve been exploring various genres of music and along the way I’ve found some real gems, so I thought I’d share them in a post. (Disclaimer: I am fully aware that I am in no way a music critic, nor am I that great at reviewing music).

Screen Shot 2014-04-25 at 00.55.40A general music outlet that I’ve been loving is a YouTube channel called Majestic Casual. They usually post house remixes of songs. The channel describes itself as representing the best of electronic music, experimental, hip-hop, indie and pop music. Two songs I’ve played over and over again this month from the channel are:

Lorde- Ribs (Ryan Hemsworth Remix) and Teedra Moses- Be Your Girl (Kaytranada Edition). Both songs give off an extremely cool vibe and I feel like they’d be excellent background music for a vlog.

Tove Lo – Stay High (Habits Remix ft. Hippie Sabotage). and AlunaGeorge- You Know You Like It (DJ Snake Trap Remix). Again just two songs that haven’t been overplayed and that put me in a good mood. I recommend listening to these whilst getting ready for a night out with your gals. 

Jay-Z feat. Beyoncé- 03 Bonnie & Clyde. If you know me well then you’ll definitely understand that I legitimately admire… No, actually, worship Beyoncé. Beyoncé can do no wrong. During April I’ve been loving listening to old school Destiny’s Child, Queen B and Jay-Z. 03 Bonnie and Clyde is undeinably one of my all time faves from the duo.

Jay-Z feat. Pharrell- I Just Wanna Love U (Jean Tonique Remix). Okay so, this by far is the best remix that has ever graced my ears.

Daughter- HumanThis song is played in my work and every time it comes on I find myself trying really hard not to hum along whilst serving customers.

Two words. Paolo. Nutini. His music game has always been strong but recently, with his return to the music scene, my love for his music has grown quite dramatically. I’m particularly fond of his live version of Iron Sky. Also, can we just have a moment to appreciate how beautiful he is? Thanks.

George Ezra- Budapest. This song reminds me of one of my dad’s “fab tunes” that he would force the family to listen to during a long car journey. Except, this one really is fab. I’ve read a couple of bitchin’ reviews about him but in my opinion George Ezra just seems royally cool. Similar to Paolo Nutini, with regards to his style of music, he seems to be an old soul but in a really trendy format. Yes, I just used the word trendy. 

Bobby Brown- Two Can Play That Game. This is what I like to call a “Belter Classic.” A golden oldie that myself and my friends thoroughly enjoy being belters to when we’re getting ready to go out.

You may be thinking “what is this belter you frequently speak of?” (Warning: rambling tangent follows) Belter is a way of life and hard to define. Well, I suppose it’s really a type of behaviour. For example, a normal person could become a belter after the one vodka that pushes them too far. Or you could just be born a belter, which can connote both negative and positive traits. Just think, Jeremy Kyle. What is the first word that springs to mind? Mine is belter. I’m not correlating myself or my friends with Jeremy Kyle guests, that is just one take on the phrase belter. Another, is just being a bit of a cringe.

Are there any songs that you’ve had on repeat this month?

Leave a Reply

